26th January 2020

Powered by Sports Entry Solutions

Entries are now Closed

The Ferriby 10 Mile 2020 Only 198 days to go!

Online entries have now closed. We are either full or the closing date has been reached

The Ferriby 10 Mile Road Race 2020 

Start Time 09:00 am prompt

City of Hull has organised a road race named after North Ferriby every year since 1954. The event originated as a staggered start handicap along one of the clubs favourite training routes. The race was originally to be an open handicap, but only East Hull Harriers and Driffield Harriers were invited to participate.  Thirty-three runner completed the first race, with first man home on handic was Ray Gray, East Hull Harriers whilst the fastest time (56.38) was recorded by Reg Darley, Hull Harriers who started off a scratch handicap.

In 1957, the Ferriby 10 became an open race and was won by Joe Lancaster of Manchester A.C., the world 20 mile champion, who crossed the line in 53.40. In 1960, Stan Sykes of Longwood Harriers lowered the fastest time for the Ferriby '10' to 51.02. In 1980, Brendan Foster was granted a late entry and went on to run 48.01, the fastest time recorded in the history of the event.

In 1990s the construction of a new stretch of the busy A164 road to the Humber Bridge cut across the route and the race moved to a new course from Skidby. The race is now one of the most popular races in the area, a record of 753 finishers in 2015.

In 2019, Will Strangeways, Lincoln Wellington won the men's race in 53:50, whilst Carla Stansfield,City of Hull AC recorded her 3rd Ferriby win in 60:32. The present course records are held by Darran Bilton (52.10) & Jenny Blizzard (58.13). 

Entry Options
Adults - UKA Club Affiliated
Adults - Non UKA Club Affiliated